euGenes .. Fish .. Fly .. Human .. Mouse .. Mosquito .. Rat .. Weed .. Worm .. Yeast Help .. Preferences

Model Organism Database Workshop Roster (graphic)

Contents

Foreword

Executive Summary

Report

Agenda

Roster

Planning Committee

A | B | C | D | E| F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M |

N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Michael Ashburner, Ph.D.
Professor
European Molecular Biology Laboratory
European Bioinformatics Institute
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CB10 15D
UNITED KINGDOM
44 1223 494412
44 1223 494470 FAX
ashburner@ebi.ac.uk

Ivan C. Baines, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
10218 Oldfield Drive
Kensington, MD 20895
(301) 897-0638
(301) 480-3541 FAX
ib9g@nih.gov

David Botstein, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Genetics
Stanford University
Lane Building, Room L329
300 Pasteur Drive
Stanford, CA 94305-5120
(650) 723-3488
(650) 723-7016 FAX
botstein@genome.stanford.edu

Josephine P. Briggs, M.D.
Director
Division of Kidney, Urologic and Hematologic Diseases
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 9A-17
31 Center Drive, Mailstop 2560
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-6325
(301) 402-4874 FAX
briggsj@hq.niddk.nih.gov

Lisa Brooks, Ph.D.
Program Officer
Genetic Variation Program
Genome Informatics Program
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 38, Room 614
38 Library Drive, Mailstop 6050
Bethesda, MD 20892-6050
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
lisa_brooks@nih.gov

Jill Carrington, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
National Center for Research Resources
National Institutes of Health
One Rockledge Center
6705 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-7965
(301) 435-0744
(301) 480-3819 FAX
jillc@ncrr.nih.gov

Samuel Cartinhour, Ph.D.
Department of Plant Breeding
Cornell University
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Bradfield Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-8091
(607) 255-6683 FAX
scartinh@greengenes.cit.cornell.edu

Peter Cartwright
President and Chief Executive Officer
Cimarron Software, Inc.
175 Southwest Temple, Suite 530
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 521-3210
(801) 521-3111 FAX
pc@cimsoft.com

Marvin Cassman, Ph.D.
Director
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Natcher Building, Room 2An.12
45 Center Drive, Mailstop 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 594-2172
cassmanm@nih.gov

J. Michael Cherry, Ph.D.
Head
Genetics Database Group
Department of Genetics
Stanford University
Alway Building, Room M341
Stanford, CA 94305-5120
(650) 723-7541
(650) 723-7016 FAX
cherry@genome.stanford.edu

Hemin Chin, Ph.D.
Chief
Genetic Basis of Neural Function Program
Division of Basic and Clinical Neuroscience Research
National Institute of Mental Health
National Institutes of Health
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 10C-26
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-1706
(301) 443-9890 FAX
hemin@nih.gov

Peter D'Eustachio, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry
School of Medicine
New York University
550 First Avenue
New York, NY 10016
(212) 263-5779
(212) 263-8166 FAX
deustp01@mcrcr0.med.nyu.edu

Leslie K. Derr, Ph.D.
Office of Science Policy
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 11A03
31 Center Drive, Mailstop 2590
Bethesda, MD 20892-2590
(301) 496-1458
(301) 496-7807 FAX
derrl@osp.nci.nih.gov

Machi F. Dilworth
Division Director
Division of Biological Infrastructure
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 615 N
Arlington, VA 22230
(703) 306-1470
(703) 306-0356 FAX
mdilwort@nsf.gov

Daniel W. Drell, Ph.D.
Biologist
Life Sciences Division
Office of Biological and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
Building GTN, Room G-147
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20974
(301) 903-4742
(301) 903-8521 FAX
daniel.drell@science.doe.gov

Richard Durbin, Ph.D.
Head
Informatics Division
The Sanger Centre
Hinxton Hall
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CB10 15A
UNITED KINGDOM
44 01223 834244
44 01223 494919 FAX
rd@sanger.ac.uk

Geoffrey M. Duyk, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
Exelixis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
260 Littlefield Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
(650) 825-2218
(650) 825-2205 FAX
duyk@exelixis.com

Joe Ecker, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biology
University of Pennsylvania
415 South University Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6018
(215) 898-9384
(215) 898-8780 FAX
jecker@atgenome.bio.upenn.edu

Janan T. Eppig, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
Mouse Genomics Laboratory
The Jackson Laboratory
600 Main Street
Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1500
(207) 288-6422
(207) 288-6433 FAX
jte@jax.org

Jonathan Epstein, M.S.
Computer Scientist
Office of Scientific Research
National Institute of Child Health and Development
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 2A31
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20894
(301) 402-4563
(301) 480-0655 FAX
jepstein@helix.nih.gov

Ken Fasman, Ph.D.
Director
Astra Bioinformatics Center
128 Sidney Street
Cambridge, MA 02139
(617) 234-2518
(617) 576-3030 FAX
ken.fasman@arcb.us.astra.com

Elise Feingold, Ph.D.
Program Director
Genome Analysis
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 38A, Room 617
38 Library Drive, Mailstop 605
Bethesda, MD 20892-6050
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
elise_feingold@nih.gov

Mark Fishman, M.D.
Chief of Cardiology
Director of Cardiovascular Research Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Bigelow 840
55 Fruit Street
Boston, MA 02114
(617) 726-3738
(617) 724-9564 FAX
fishman@cure.mgh.harvard.edu

Rainer Fuchs, Ph.D.
Vice President
ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
26 Landsdowne Street
Cambridge, MA 02139-4234
(617) 494-0400
(617) 252-0851 FAX
rainer.fuchs@ariad.com

Jim Garrels, Ph.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Proteome, Inc.
100 Cummings Center, Suite 435M
Beverly, MA 01915
(978) 922-1643
(978) 922-3971 FAX
jg@proteome.com

William M. Gelbart, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
The Biological Laboratories
Harvard University
16 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138-2020
(617) 495-2906
(617) 496-1354 FAX
gelbart@morgan.harvard.edu

Thomas J. Gill, III, M.D.
Menten Professor of Experimental Pathology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
64 Pond Road
Duxbury, MA 02332
(781) 934-7348
(781) 934-7130 FAX
gilliii@massmed.org

Paul Gilna, Ph.D.
Program Director
Database and Computational Biology Activities
Division of Biological Infrastructure
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 615
Arlington, VA 22230
(703) 306-1470 EXT 6410
(703) 306-0356 FAX
pgilna@nsf.gov

Judith Greenberg, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
45 Center Drive, Mailstop 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 594-0943
(301) 480-2228 FAX
greenbej@nigms.nih.gov

Pascal Haffter, Ph.D.
Max-Planck-Institut für Entwicklungsbiologie
Spemannstrasse 35/III
Tuebingen 72076
GERMANY
49 7071 601 443
49 7071 601 384 FAX
pascal.haffter@tuebingen.mpg.de

Marnie E. Halpern, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
Department of Embryology
Carnegie Institution of Washington
115 West University Parkway
Baltimore, MD 21210
(410) 554-1218
(410) 243-6311 FAX
halpern@mail1.ciwemb.edu

Jonathan Hodgkin, Ph.D.
Permanent Scientific Research Staff
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 2QH
UNITED KINGDOM
44 1223 402321
44 1223 412142 FAX
jah@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

Philip M. Iannaccone, M.D., Ph.D.
George M. Eisenberg Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Children's Memorial Institute for Education Research
Northwestern University Medical School
2300 Children's Plaza, Mailstop 204
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 880-8236
(773) 880-8266 FAX
pmi@nwu.edu

Ian J. Jackson, M.A., Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
MRC Human Genetics Unit
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh EH4 2XU
SCOTLAND
44 0131 467 8409
44 0131 343 2620 FAX
ian.jackson@hgu.mrc.ac.uk

Howard J. Jacob, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Laboratory of Genetics Research
Department of Physiology
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53213
(414) 456-4887
(414) 456-6516 FAX
jacob@mcw.edu

Elke Jordan, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 4B09
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-0844
elkej@mail.nih.gov

Gary H. Karpen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
The Salk Institute
10010 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037
(619) 453-4100, ext. 1473
(619) 622-0417 FAX
karpen@salk.edu

Martin E. Kreitman, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Ecology and Evolution
University of Chicago
1101 East 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
(773) 702-1222
(773) 702-9740 FAX
mkre@midway.uchicago.edu

Stanley I. Letovsky, M.S., Ph.D.
Director of Bioinformatics
Cereon Genomics, LLC.
270 Albany Street
Cambridge, MA 02139
(617) 551-1731
(617) 551-1814 FAX
Stanley.I.Letovsky@cereon.com

Goran Levan, Ph.D.
Professor of Genetics
Lundberg Laboratory
Department of Cell and Molecular Biology-Genetics
Göteborg University
Medicinareg.9C, Box 462
Göthenburg SE 405 30
SWEDEN
46-31-773-3290
46-31-826-286 FAX
Goran.Levan@gen.gu.se

David Lipman, M.D.
Director
National Center for Biotechnology Information
National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Building 38A, Room 8N805
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
(301) 496-2475
(301) 480-9241 FAX
lipman@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Cheryl L. Marks, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Genetics Branch
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Executive Plaza North, Room 501
6130 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892-7381
(301) 435-5226
(301) 496-8656 FAX
cm74v@nih.gov

Victoria McGovern, Ph.D.
Program Officer
Burroughs Wellcome Fund
4709 Creekstone Drive
Durham, NC 27703
(919) 991-5112
(919) 941-5884 FAX
vmcgovern@bwfund.org

Jean McKay, M.L.S.
Office of Science Policy
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 501
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-1458
(301) 496-7807 FAX
jm279v@nih.gov

Victor McKusick, M.D.
University Professor of Medical Genetics
Center for Medical Genetics
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Blalok 1007
600 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21287-4922
(410) 955-6641
(410) 955-4999 FAX
mckusick@peas.welch.jhu.edu

Stephen C. Mockrin, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Division of Heart and Vascular Diseases
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
Rockledge II, Room 9170
6701 Rockledge Drive, Mailstop 7940
Bethesda, MD 20892-7940
(301) 435-0477
(301) 480-1336 FAX
mockrins@gwgate.nhlbi.nih.gov

Joe Nadeau, Ph.D.
Professor
Genetics Department BRB-630
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
10900 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
(216) 368-0581
(216) 368-3432 FAX
jhn4@po.cwru.edu

Kenji Nakamura, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Administrator
Office of Scientific Review
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 38A, Room 609
38 Library Drive, Mailstop 6050
Bethesda, MD 20892-6050
(301) 402-0838
(301) 480-2770 FAX
nakamurk@exchange.nih.gov

Robert Nussbaum, M.D.
Chief
Genetic Disease Research Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 49, Room 4A68
49 Convent Drive, Mailstop 4472
Bethesda, MD 20892-4472
(301) 402-2039
(301) 402-2170 FAX
rlnuss@nhgri.nih.gov

Susan E. Old, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Heart and Vascular Diseases
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
Rockledge II, Room 9150
6701 Rockledge Drive, Mailstop 7940
Bethesda, MD 20892-7940
(301) 435-0477
(301) 480-1336 FAX
olds@gwgate.nhlbi.nih.gov

James Ostell, Ph.D.
Chief, Information Engineering Branch
National Center for Biotechnology Information
National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Building 38A, Room 8N813
8600 Rockville Pike, Mailstop 53
Bethesda, MD 20894
(301) 435-5978
(301) 480-9241 FAX
ostell@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Jane Peterson, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 38A, Room 614
38 Library Drive, Mailstop 605
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
jane_peterson@nih.gov

Rodney Rothstein, Ph.D.
Professor
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Department of Genetics and Development
Columbia University
701 West 168th Street
New York, NY 10032-2704
(212) 305-1733
(212) 923-2090 FAX
rothstein@cuccfa.ccc.columbia.edu

Edward Rubin, M.D., Ph.D.
Department Head
Department of Genome Sciences
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
University of California at Berkeley
One Cyclotron Road, Mailstop 84-171
Berkeley, CA 94720
(510) 486-5072
(510) 486-4229 FAX
emrubin@lbl.gov

Gerald M. Rubin, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology-HHMI
University of California at Berkeley
Room 3200, Box 539
Life Sciences Annex Building
Berkeley, CA 94720-3200
(510) 643-9945
(510) 643-9947 FAX
gerry@fruitfly.berkeley.edu

Alan F. Scott, Ph.D.
OMIM Scientific Director for Genes
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
600 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21287-4922
(410) 955-2553
(410) 614-9752 FAX
afscott@welchlink.welch.jhu.edu

Grace L. Shen, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Genetics Branch
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Executive Plaza North, Room 501
6130 Executive Boulevard
Rockville, MD 20892-7381
(301) 435-5226
(301) 496-8656 FAX
gs35r@nih.gov

Rochelle Small, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Human Communications
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
National Institutes of Health
Executive Plaza South, Room 400C
6120 Executive Boulevard, Mailstop 7180
Bethesda, MD 20892-7180
(301) 402-3464
(301) 402-6251 FAX
rochelle_small@nih.gov

Randall F. Smith, Ph.D.
Director
Bioinformatics Department
Smith Kline Beecham Pharmaceuticals
P.O. Box 1539 UW2230
709 Swedeland Road
King of Prussia, PA 19406
(610) 270-5774
(610) 270-5580 FAX
randall_f_smith@sbphrd.com

Chris Somerville, Ph.D.
Director/Professor
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Stanford University
260 Panama Street
Stanford, CA 94305
(650) 325-1521, ext. 203
(650) 325-6857 FAX
crs@andrew.stanford.edu

Marjorie Tingle, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
National Center for Research Resources
National Institutes of Health
Room 6154
6705 Rockledge Drive, Mailstop 7965
Bethesda, MD 20892-7965
(301) 435-0772
(301) 480-3659 FAX
macjoriet@ep.ncrr.nih.gov

Peter Tonellato, Ph.D.
Director
Informatics Research Center
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 West Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 456-8570
(414) 456-6546 FAX
tone@mcw.edu

David Valle, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Room 802, PCTB
725 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
(410) 955-4260
(410) 955-7397 FAX
dvalle@jhmi.edu

Susan J. Waldrop
Assistant Director for Program Coordination
Office of Science Policy
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 11A03
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-1458
(301) 496-7807 FAX
sw40j@nih.gov

Neal B. West, Ph.D.
Program Director
Division of Comparative Medicine
National Center for Research Resources
National Institutes of Health
6705 Rockledge Drive, Room 6166
Bethesda, MD 20892-7965
(301) 435-0749
(301) 480-3819 FAX
nealw@ncrr.nih.gov

Monte Westerfield, Ph.D.
Professor
Institute of Neuroscience
University of Oregon
1254 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403
(541) 346-4607
(541) 346-4548 FAX
monte@uoneuro.uoregon.edu

Back buttonContinue button


NIH Home | NHGRI Home | NHLBI Home


Send comments to us at eugenes@iubio.bio.indiana.edu
euGenes uses Argos: A Replicable Genome infOrmation System